Support Home/Getting Started/Account Features & Questions

How do I manage my Elance Account?

e_jond
posted this on July 06, 2011 10:47 AM

Managing your Elance account is only a click away! There are a number of default settings and messages you should keep an eye on. Click below to learn more:

Time Zones and World Clock

You have the ability to check the time in different cities from one location when you add additional time zones to your World Clock. To select time zones:

  1. Click on your username at the top of the Elance website and choose Settings.   

  2. Click Time Zones and World Clock.

  3. Set your Local Time and add additional time zones. You can select up to 5 time zones.

You will be able to view the time zones created in the Workroom for each awarded job. Please note the time zones on World Clock are for reference only and will not change the timestamps for messages or other actions completed via the Workroom.

Note:  The time zone you have set as your local time will be used as the time tracked in Elance Tracker.

Elance Session Timed Out

When you log into Elance, you will remain logged into the site as long you continue to be active (navigating between pages, making payments, sending messages, etc.).  After six hours of inactivity, Elance will end your session and you will be prompted to sign in again to access your account.  

You also have the option to stay logged into Elance from your computer for a 2 week period.  From the Sign In page, click the box next to Keep me signed in for 2 weeks.  If you have your browser settings configured to delete your cookies when the browser window is closed, you will not able to use this feature.  

 Note: Do not use this option if you share your computer with other users.

Account Files

You can store your commonly used files in the Files section under the Manage tab and reference them from within any Workroom or Job Post. Instead of uploading the same file again and again, you can now upload it once to your account!

 To access the Account Files section, click on the Manage tab in the top navigation bar and then click on Files.

Profile Privacy

Whether you are a Client or a Freelancer, maintaining your profile privacy can be done easily from within your account. To adjust your Privacy Settings, please login to your Elance account and follow the steps below:

  1. Click your username to the top right of your Elance account.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. Click Privacy.

As a Freelancer, you have the option to hide your earnings and your profile from both Elance and/or search engines. As a Client, Job titles and hiring descriptions, spending amounts and Freelancers who work on your Elance jobs may be hidden from public view on your profile page.

Social Networks

To link your Elance account with either your Facebook or LinkedIn account:

  1. Click your Elance username from the top right of your account.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. Click Social Networks.

  4. Click the Sign in with Facebook or Sign in with LinkedIn button to link either account with Elance.  

Note:  The option to link your LinkedIn or Facebook account to Elance is also available on the Sign In Page.

Notifications

To manage the type and frequency of your Elance notifications from within your account, follow the steps below:

  1. Click your Elance username from the top right of your account.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. Click Communication from the left.

  4. Click Notifications.

  5. Select the types of notifications you would like to receive and click Save.

 
Topic is closed for comments