Support Home/Getting Started/Elance Overview

How do I downgrade or cancel my membership plan?

e_jond
posted this on May 05, 2009 03:10 PM

For freelancers, as an alternative to membership cancellation, Elance offers the option to downgrade to a free Basic Plan.  The free Basic Plan will maintain a freelancer profile in our directory of freelancers and allow a minimum number of Connects. See below for instructions on how to downgrade or cancel your freelancer membership plan.  For more information on membership plans, click here.

To cancel your client account, please email us at support@elance.com and we will process your account cancellation.

How do I downgrade or cancel my membership?

If you have more than one category in your membership plan, you must select one category to keep for your profile.  Your feedback and job history for all other categories will be available in the future if you add those categories back to a paid membership.

To cancel or downgrade a freelancer membership, please log in to your account and follow the steps below:

  1. Click on the username at the top of the Elance website and choose Membership from the drop-down menu.
  2. Click the Edit Membership Plan link or click on Cancel Membership link to the right, if you wish to cancel. 
  3. Click the radio button above the plan you wish to downgrade to and follow the prompts.

Memberships must be canceled or downgraded at least one day prior to the next billing date to avoid being automatically charged for the next membership period.  All membership payments are non-refundable.

When canceling or downgrading a freelancer membership, the effective date is the next billing date.  Freelancers can continue submitting proposals until that next billing date. 

How do I change the Category in my membership?

To change your current membership category, please log in to your account and follow these steps:

  1. Click on the username at the top of the Elance website and choose Membership from the drop-down menu.
  2. Click the Membership link in the upper corner of the page.
  3. Click the Edit Membership Plan link on the right.
  4. From here, you can choose the category you wish to belong to going forward.

Note: Category changes only take effect at the beginning of your next billing cycle. If you have a paid membership, you can add additional categories to your membership and begin submitting proposals in that category immediately. For the 1st 60 days after registration, new freelancers will be able to change membership immediately.

How do I change the Default Payment Method for my Membership?

Freelancers can purchase a membership using a credit card (American Express, MasterCard or Visa), PayPal account, or the available balance in their Elance Account.

To change your membership payment method, please log in to your account and follow the steps below:

  1. Go to Manage in the top navigation bar and select Financial Accounts from the drop-down menu.
  2. Under your Default Payment Account section, select an account from the pull down menu and click on the Set Default button next to the payment method you want to use now.

Note: If you are selecting your Elance Account as your payment method, you must have funds in your available balance first.  If you are upgrading your membership plan, the payment method will be charged immediately.  If there is no change to your membership plan, the new payment method will be charged on your membership's regular renewal date.

 
Topic is closed for comments