When a job is cancelled with funds in Escrow, a milestone amount is reduced or a milestone is deleted, once the terms changes have been accepted by both parties, the funds in Escrow will be automatically returned to your payment source (i.e. credit card, PayPal or Elance account).
To confirm the refund from within your Elance account, go to Manage > Transactions. In your Transaction History, the amount and date of the refund will be visible. Please note it can take three (3) to five (5) business days for the refund to post to your credit card or PayPal statement.
If your payment was made by PayPal over 45 days ago, once the terms changes or cancellation for your project are accepted, the funds will be returned to your Elance account, as PayPal will only allow refunds within 45 days of the original payment date. You may then use the funds for another job or you may request a withdrawal to PayPal.
To withdraw your funds, please log into your Elance account and follow the steps below:
1. Hover over the Manage tab at the top of the page and then click on the link Transactions.
2. Next, click the Withdraw Funds link located on the left side and follow the prompts.
Note: To use the funds for another project, please be sure to select your Elance account as the payment source when funding Escrow.